top

View previous topic GPIO Node Webserver sloooooooooooowwwwwww View next topic

Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | IP-Audio Networks    Page 1 of 1

Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:10 am
PostPost subject: GPIO Node Webserver sloooooooooooowwwwwww Reply with quote
James_Nebraska



Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

I'm trying to configure the GPIO node for my Axia routing switcher, and the little webserver in it for configuration and monitoring takes forever to load, and many times IE will give up on it. Ping works fine to the IP address, and reports speedy results, but using IE to get into the node is not working.

I'll use IE to connect to the audio and router selector nodes, and they work just fine.

What should I do?


_________________
James Duchesneau,
Production Coordinator
NET Radio
Lincoln, Nebraska
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:54 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 278
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

Is this a new GPIO node? Are you able to get to any pages or is it not letting you get to any? If you power cycle it, do you have any better results? Are you sure there isn't another device on the network with the same IP address?
What are the routes that you have in place?

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:02 pm
PostPost subject: All nodes slow now. Reply with quote
James_Nebraska



Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

Now, all nodes are really sluggish when trying to access them via web browser. The audio seems to be flowing well, and pings are speedy enough, but accessing the configuration pages for the nodes are either really slow, or they don't happen at all.

_________________
James Duchesneau,
Production Coordinator
NET Radio
Lincoln, Nebraska
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:12 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 278
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

James_Nebraska:

You never responded to the questions I left on the forum. Please send an email to our support account (support (at) AxiaAudio (dot) com) so that we can resolve this in more timely manner. Please include your switch model, a copy of the configuration of the switch, some details on the gear connected to the switch. There is something not correct about your system that with all the information, a support person will be able to resolve this.

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:10 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
James_Nebraska



Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska

thanks

_________________
James Duchesneau,
Production Coordinator
NET Radio
Lincoln, Nebraska
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:08 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 278
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

For any reading along, the issue was a switch configuration. If a switch has no configuration (or maybe incorrect configuration), the ports could behave in a flooding manner (all traffic being transported down the pipe). For example, as can be seen in the suggested switch configuration documents from the AxiaAudio web site, there are command lines which turn on IGMP (Internet Group Management Protocol). This manages the multicast data and without it, a switch will treat the mutlicast as Broadcast. This is just spreading the data out of all ports. With 2 nodes, this may not be a problem and why some customers actually have success with a pair of nodes on a none approved switch (or not configured switches); the data is being treated as broadcast and you can transfer audio from node to node as long as the port isn't saturated with data. Other devices on the network (your office PC) may begin to suffer a little since it would be receiving a lot of data it didn't ask for and has to use up resources to toss the data away. Once you begin to add more and more of these devices, eventually the network is saturated with Mutlicast which is being treated as broadcast, now your playing with a critical mass (of data).
With IGMP enabled and configured as Axia suggests, this sort of "waisted" broadcast traffic is avoided and the network actually performs more like a fine tuned race car and not a scientific experiment.
Configuring a switch may frighten you, but just like everything else, give yourself enough time to read the instruction, to apply what you have been instructed to do, and check your work. If it doesn't make sense, or the outcome isn't what you think it should be, ask someone that may know the answer. That is why Axia provides 24/7 support. If you have a question, just ask us, we are here to help you succeed. Wink

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Thu May 14, 2009 6:09 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
jp



Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Washington DC

Thanks for the follow up, Milos. All too often threads like this just end with no resolution.

_________________
~~~~~~~~~~
John Penovich
Radio Free Asia
~~~~~~~~~~
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Fri May 15, 2009 1:17 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
clarknovak



Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 163
Location: San Diego, CA

AXIA_milos wrote:
Configuring a switch may frighten you, but just like everything else, give yourself enough time to read the instruction, to apply what you have been instructed to do, and check your work. If it doesn't make sense, or the outcome isn't what you think it should be, ask someone that may know the answer. That is why Axia provides 24/7 support.


Frighten? Hey, it's not like you can break 'em. That's why there's a "reset" button! Very Happy If a marketing wonk like me can configure a switch, anyone can!

And like Milos says, if you get stuck, we're always here to help.


_________________
Clark Novak
Marketing Director
Telos Alliance
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | IP-Audio Networks    Page 1 of 1
Display posts from previous:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum