top

View previous topic ASI 6585 has GPIO View next topic

Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | Partners' Products    Page 1 of 1

Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:58 pm
PostPost subject: ASI 6585 has GPIO Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

Just a word to anyone reading, I found the other day while assisting a customer that the ASI6585 card has included GPIO function. This wasn't implemented at release of the card. Not sure how an automation system uses the GPIO, that is something between ASI and the delivery system, but either way, nice to know it now has GPIO. If interested in using GPIO, I would suggest approaching the delivery system support team and then maybe ASI.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:45 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
chrisweiss



Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 6

We just received an ASI Livewire card and are putting it into an experimental audio server on our NexGen system. I should have an answer on the GPIO question soon. We've been using the multi-channel IP audio driver with GPIO control for about 6 months without issues, but the station pitch shifts its music, and the IP audio driver doesn't deal with this as well as an ASI card can.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:44 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
clarknovak



Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 163
Location: San Diego, CA

Chris, please post your experience here. I'm sure there's plenty of folks who'd be interested in knowing how this works out.

_________________
Clark Novak
Marketing Director
Telos Alliance
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:21 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

I have a suspicion that there is no interface on the part of ASI to the PC. If this were true, then establishing a TCP connection to the IP address of the ASI card would be the method to observe changes in GPIO. That would be a question for NexGen on how the application would do that.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:44 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
chrisweiss



Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 6

Shouldn't the audio server handle communication with the ASI Livewire card at an API level? NexGen can already handle source switching on the Orban PC1100 cards in a similar manner.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Thu Jan 08, 2009 6:51 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

The API is through port 93 of the IP address of the ASI card. Your delivery system needs to be able to access this. I know NexGen is able to access port 93 of the IP driver, this may be done on the LOOPBACK. But it is only an IP address away for NexGen to be able to do the same with the ASI card.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:06 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
mpaton



Joined: 05 Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

Hi There

Just wondering if anybody has this card's GPIO's working with Nexgen? I am getting errors about a missing IP driver when booting Nexgen up...

Cheers

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:38 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

NexGen interfaces with the GPIO of the IP driver, not with the GPIO of an ASI card.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | Partners' Products    Page 1 of 1
Display posts from previous:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum