top

View previous topic Assign channel to preview Bus on iQ View next topic

Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | iQ & Radius Consoles    Page 1 of 1

Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:03 pm
PostPost subject: Assign channel to preview Bus on iQ Reply with quote
geko



Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 10

Hello,
is it possible to assign a source directly to an output, or even better, the preview bus? Our playout system uses a separate channel for PFL, and I was wondering how to hear that on the same preview speaker than previews from other sources like microphones and CD players?
Thanks very much,
Georges

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:22 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

Two option to do this.
ONE) use the VMIX option to sum your preview mix and the single source from the playout. The vmix is what you assign to the analog output that drives your Preview speaker.
TWO) use the external Preview option in the show profile. Define the playout source. This will require that the playout system triggers a GPI when preview audio is being played. The GPI should trigger the CR monitor logic input 3. Refer to the GPIO tables in the manual for CR monitor logic, you should see that input 3 is for External Preview trigger.

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:16 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
geko



Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 10

I'm not seeing Preview as a source in the V-Mix options, I only see sources I've defined myself. Anything I'm missing?
Thanks,
Georges

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:49 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
AXIA_milos
Axia Team


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 279
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

I was mistaken, this is currently not an option and for good reason. If doing such, the end user risks having no mute control and no volume control of the External source.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:12 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
geko



Joined: 13 Jul 2011
Posts: 10

OK I see - the volume control is not really important (often present on preview monitors), but muting is a good argument.
I have found a workaround - I'm now triggering PFL in the playout system on the same channel with the GPIO PFL ON/OFF signal from the iQ.

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | iQ & Radius Consoles    Page 1 of 1
Display posts from previous:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum