top

View previous topic Pathfinder on Vista? XP? Win2000? Server'03? oh my! View next topic

Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | PathfinderPC and PathfinderPRO Goto page Previous  1, 2   Page 2 of 2

Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:13 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
David



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Location: Park Rapids, Minnesota

Thanks Dan....I got it!
Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:41 am
PostPost subject: PathfinderPRO on virtual server Reply with quote
BDAUEWMAN



Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Concord, NC

We are using PathfinderPC on an XP box and have purchased PathfinderPRO upgrade edition. PRO says it needs Server 2003 and earlier posts say Server 2008 works also. My question is, will PRO work on a virtual server?

_________________
Twitter, @mrnengbob
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 
Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:59 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
DanBays
Axia Team


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Cleveland

Yes PathfinderServer Pro will work on a Virtual Server. We do quite alot of our in house operating system testing using VirtualBox and virtualized servers.

_________________
Dan Bays
Software Authority, Inc.
Commercial Recording Studios, Inc.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:05 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
BDAUEWMAN



Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Concord, NC

thanks
b


_________________
Twitter, @mrnengbob
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 
Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:03 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
roccon



Joined: 06 May 2010
Posts: 1

DanBays wrote:
David,

We now also recomment Windows Server 2008. You will have a hard time pucrhasing 2000 or 2003. Technically the way the Microsoft license is worded you will need Cals. Depending on whether you use the device or user model and the number of users/connections the cals will be different. However, almost any copy of Windows Server will come with 5 cals so you should be ok.


Is Win Server 2008 R2 64bit also ok to use ?

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
 
Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
DanBays
Axia Team


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Cleveland

Yes it will work with Win2008 R2 64bit as well. It will install into the Program Files (X86) directory, and you should right click on the executable in that folder and set it to Run as Administrator in the compatibility mode.

The one word of warning is that you will run into some issues with clustering if you try to cluster an R2 64 bit machine with another server running a 32 bit OS. The reason for this is that the clustering data has file position pointers in it and the application installs into Program Files (x86) as opposed to Program Files. So the pointers will not match. So you need to make sure both nodes of the cluster are either 32 bit or 64 bit.


_________________
Dan Bays
Software Authority, Inc.
Commercial Recording Studios, Inc.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | PathfinderPC and PathfinderPRO Goto page Previous  1, 2   Page 2 of 2
Display posts from previous:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum