top

View previous topic SPDIF into AES node recommended method View next topic

Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | Audio Nodes    Page 1 of 1

Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:27 pm
PostPost subject: SPDIF into AES node recommended method Reply with quote
JonCyphers



Joined: 12 Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wichita, KS

What is the recommended method of putting SPDIF into the AES node?

Is there a favorite passive or active adaptor that adjusts impedance and signal level, and is the consumer/pro flag properly set necessary to make the node work properly?

I've used various methods with other gear, but I would like to know the one recommended method for Axia nodes that won't cause any issues.

We have 8 Denon 635 CD players that have SPDIF outs, and a few oddball pieces that have SPDIF also.

Thanks!
jon

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:33 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
clarknovak



Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 163
Location: San Diego, CA

Hey Jon,

There's a StudioHub bit for this:

http://www.studiohub.com/MJ-SPDIFOUT.html

Takes SPDIF or TOSLink in and outputs AES. (They've got one that goes the other way, too.)


_________________
Clark Novak
Marketing Director
Telos Alliance
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:08 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
JonCyphers



Joined: 12 Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wichita, KS

Thanks Clark, that looks like the perfect fix!

jon

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:54 pm
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
Andrew_KOOP



Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Austin, TX

FWIW, HOSA also makes a little SPDIF -> AES converter box. We used that with the Denon 635s and had no issues.

The StudioHub box might be more convenient, though.

Oh - one subtle non-Axia note. I believe the Denon's will only play MP3 output through their Analog outs for some reason. If that functionality is important to you, you might want to check.

Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 
Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:27 am
PostPost subject: Reply with quote
JonCyphers



Joined: 12 Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Location: Wichita, KS

Thanks Andrew.

I wondered about the Hosa...but I probably will go with the StudioHub just for ease of connections.

I think I'll try to use the Denon inability to play mp3's to my benefit, to help keep them off the air as much as possible. But that is a nice thing to know, I probably would have pulled my hair out trying to figure that out!

Back to top View user's profile Send private message
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Axia Discussion Board Forum Index | Audio Nodes    Page 1 of 1
Display posts from previous:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum